bup-rm - remove references to archive content (CAUTION: EXPERIMENTAL)
bup rm [-#|--verbose] <branch|save...>
bup rm removes the indicated branches (backup sets) and saves. By itself, this command does not delete any actual data (nor recover any storage space), but it may make it very difficult or impossible to refer to the deleted items, unless there are other references to them (e.g. tags).
A subsequent garbage collection, either by a
bup gc, or by a normal
git gc, may permanently delete data that is no longer reachable from the remaining branches or tags, and reclaim the related storage space.
NOTE: This is one of the few bup commands that modifies your archive in intentionally destructive ways.
bup rmmay only write new commits.
# Delete the backup set (branch) foo and a save in bar. $ bup rm /foo /bar/2014-10-21-214720
Part of the